Live Recordings from
Joseph Bologne: The First Classical Composer of African Descent

Performed by the American Baroque Orchestra
(From the May 2019 Concert, New Haven, Connecticut)
Concert Videos Below

Program of Works

All music by Joseph Bologne, Le Chevalier de St. Georges (1745-1799)

Allegro from String Quartet No. 3, Op. 1

Andante from Symphony in G Major, Op. 11

Rondeau from String Quartet No. 4, Op. 1

Adagio in F minor

(Edson Scheid, violin Kevin Sherwin, guitar)

Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 11
I. Allegro Presto (also Overture to L’amante Anonyme, 1780)
II. Andante
III. Presto

Marche and Ballet from L’Amant Anonyme

Violin Concerto in A Major, Op. 5, No. 2

I. Allegro Moderato
II. Largo
III. Rondeau

Edson Scheid, violin soloist

American Baroque Orchestra
Mark Bailey, artistic director and conductor
Kevin Sherwin, associate artistic director
Edson Scheid, concertmaster and violin soloist

Full Concert, Part I

Full Concert, Part II

Full Concert, Part III

With support from the Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Office of the Arts, which also receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.